Southside Flyers had a team of champions but in Sunday’s WNBL grand final they proved that in just under six weeks they have become a champion team, winning the club’s first title.

Liz Cambage was the team’s figurehead for much of the season but foul trouble limited her influence to a stellar third term against Townsville Fire in the decider. Instead it was proven veterans Leilani Mitchell, Steph Blicavs, Rachel Jarry and brave captain Jenna O’Hea who made sure their team got over the line.

Leilani Mitchell (right) was named grand final MVP.

Leilani Mitchell (right) was named grand final MVP.Credit:Getty Images

Mitchell, who won her second Rachael Sporn Medal as grand final MVP, scored 21 of her 31 points in the first half including five three-pointers to keep her side in the contest against a Fire team playing in front of a boisterous home crowd.

Cambage (14 points in 15 minutes) sat out with two fouls from midway through the first quarter until the start of the third and she made up for lost time with 12 points as her side extended its lead.

Source link

Categories: Daily Updates


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *